Review | You by Caroline Kepnes

If you don’t start with crazy, crazy love, the kind of love that Van Morrison sings about then you don’t have a shot to go the distance. Love’s a marathon… not a sprint.

Caroline Kepnes, You.

I’ve been seeing this book around for quite a while. Then I saw it was a show on Netflix, which my friends were raving about, so I decided to read the book before I watched the show and see what all the hype was about.

What a good book. I actually finished reading this a few weeks ago, but I’ve had to have a few weeks to digest it. Definitely one of the best of the year.

Joe and Beck have the perfect meet cute story… they meet in a bookstore… and in a bar in Brooklyn. And for Joe it is love at first sight. She has an public Facebook profile and her constant tweeting gives Joe all the information he needs to know to orchestrate his own “meet cute” after they met in the bookstore. From then, their relationship is one of lust, and heartbreak, and friendship and… murder?

I read it in the span of a few weeks, because I didn’t like the way it was making me feel. The writing is so good, I found myself rooting for the person you shouldn’t be rooting for, and getting annoyed at the other characters. In fact, Kepnes got into Joe’s head a little too well… I was reading it on a long train journey that I was mostly sat by myself for, but during the last stretch an old woman sat by me and I was so conscious about what I was reading, I decided to put it away for fear she may glance over and be horrified by my choice of book!

I still haven’t had chance to watch the series yet, I’m waiting for when I have a few days free and I can binge it all in one go. But if the show is as good as the book, I’m sure I’ll be hooked. When I read the book, I already knew who had been cast as Joe and I can’t think of a more perfect actor.

Have you read You yet? What did you think of it?

What are your thoughts?